Ken Erlandson Mr. Ken Erlandson is the Camp Director. Growing up in nearby Fergus Falls, Minn., Erlandson served as a summer counselor during the summer of 1982, then Summer Program Director during the 1985 camping season. He was also an intern at Camp Luther in Three Lakes, Wisc. from 1983-1984 and on the staff of Camp Luther as Director of Programs from 1986-1989. After graduating from the Director of Christian Education (DCE) program at Concordia University, St. Paul, Minn., in 1985, Erlandson served as a youth director at parishes in Duluth, Minn., and Platte Woods, Mo. He has served as Director of Lutheran Island Camp and Retreat Center since 2001. Ken and his family are members of St. Paul Lutheran in Henning. E-mail:
Marvin Swyter Mr. Marvin Swyter is the Maintenance Director. His association with Lutheran Island Camp dates back to the late '70s when his children began attending, then later volunteered and worked at camp. Marv served on the camp's Board of Directors from 1992 to 1997. He has been Maintenance Director since 1997. His wife Mary was the camp's Housekeeping Director. They are members of St. John Lutheran in Perham E-mail:
 Adriane Anderson Adriane Anderson is the registrar andadministrative assistant in the office. She worked as a kitchen helper in the late 90's and met her husband Josh at camp. Adriane has three sons, including twin boys. She and Josh and the boys live just a mile or so from camp. They are members of St. John Lutheran in OttertailE-mail:


 Bill Schultz

Mr. Bill Schultz, serves as Director of Planning and Resource Development. As a former camp Director, long-time board member, and past-president of the Lutheran Island Camp Board of Directors, Bill combines a great knowledge of and love for the camp with many years of experience in the development and not-for-profit fields. He focuses on leadership and planning programs for congregations and groups, works with the Foundation, and is responsible for developing the many resources that God provides the Island. He is currently focusing much of his efforts on program and facility expansion. He and his wife Judy are members of Grace Lutheran in Becker. E-mail:


Mr. Louis Blocker is the Program Director. Louis first began attending LIC when he was four months old, and has been back every year since! He served on summer staff at LIC from 2010-2013 while completing his Bachelors of Communication and English at Bethany Lutheran College. He also served as Ministry Impact at Camp Lakeview in Seymour, IN in 2014 and worked as Program Director at Walcamp in Kingston, IL from 2015-2016. He began serving at Lutheran Island Camp in 2017. Louis, his wife, and their daughter Naomi attend Lord of Glory Lutheran in Elk River. E-mail:


Each spring Lutheran Island Camp hires 20 to 24 college-age adults to serve as Summer Counselors and Support Staff. These young men and women provide dedicated service for the sake of sharing the love of God in Christ with the hundreds of campers with whom they have daily contact.

We also have an active Junior Counselor volunteer program, in which high school- and college-aged students serve for one week during the summer, assisting the paid staff and gaining valuable experience in the field of outdoor ministry. For a Junior Counselor application, send an e-mail to: You can also download applications by following this link.

Each year we have a number of volunteers who come to camp and work in areas such as maintenance, horse programs, and as program volunteers. They stay from a few days to several months. If you are interested contact the Director of Planning and Resource Development.



The Lutheran Island Camp Board of Directors consists of the following individuals who donate their time and considerable talents out of love for the camp:

Reverend Jeff Walther., serves as Board President

Mr Willy Wilson, St. Cloud, Minn., serves as Secretary

Chubb Germolus, Perham, Minn., serves as Treasurer

Mr. Dick Buech, Grand Rapids, Minn. serves as Vice President

Rev. Steve Benson, Brainerd, Minn.

Ms. Beverly Timm-Lannon, Henning, Minn

Mr. Mark Haberer, Elbow Lake, Minn

Mr. Gene Meyer, Willmar, Minn.

Rev. Justin Hesterman, Eagle Bend, MInn

Mr. Larry Mattfield, Bovey, Minn.

Mr. Art Bolland, Willmar, Minn.

Mr. David Robbins, Deer Creek, Minn.

Ms. Melodie Hobbie, Montivideo, Minn.


Rev. Kirk Lee, Parkers Prairie, Minn., Minnesota North District Vice President, ex officio advisory member

Rev. Don Fondow, Park Rapids, Minn., Minnesota North District President, ex officio advisory member